
INSTRUCTOR-IN-TRAINING PERMIT APPLICATION 
Instructions 

1. Complete and submit this application and pay the $15.00 non-refundable at least 7 days BEFORE starting the Instructor-In-Training
program.

2. Submit the “Instructor-in-Training Verification Form” to the Board upon completion of the 100 Hours - Teaching Skills and Methodology.
3. A permit will be issued upon receipt of the completed verification form from the start date of enrollment (or additional training). The

permit will expire on the last day of the month, six months following the start date of enrollment.
4. You may not supervise students and count towards the instructor to student ratio until your permit is posted in the school.
5. The permit is valid for six months; Prior to the expiration of the permit, a new application must be filed to request additional training if

you do not complete the training and pass exams  before the expiration of the permit.
6. Please click here to review Board Policy 001-17 Instructors-in-Training. Hours may be denied if policy is not followed.

Notice of Intent  
I am enrolling in an instructor training course and I hereby submit my notice 
of intent to become an Instructor-in-Training. I am submitting my Notice of Intent 
at least seven (7) days prior to the start of the training program. 

Start Date of 100 Hours – Teaching Skills and Methodology: _________________

Program Enrollment
 300 Hours
 450 Hours
 600 Hours

 Cosmetology
 Nail Technology

 Esthetics

Request for Additional Training 
Only complete this section if you are requesting another Instructor-in-Training permit because you have not completed the training 
within six months. Complete this form and submit the non-refundable $15.00 fee. 
Additional Training Start Date: __________________ 

Reason training could not be completed within six months:_______________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Applicant 

Name Email 

Address City State Zip 

Phone Date of Birth *Social Security Number License No. 

School 

Name License No. Phone 

Address City State Zip 

Attestation I declare under penalty of perjury that I have read and understand this form and that the information provided on this form is true and correct.

Signature Date Signed 

11/16/2022

***-**-

 If you have questions about this form please e-mail kboc@ks.gov

Payment  $15.00

Credit Card Payment $15
1). Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc 
2). Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar 
3). Transaction Item = Instructor Permit Fee
4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below 

Check or Money Order Payment $15
1). Complete this form 
2). Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology 
3). Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address provided above.

Order ID # _______________________

* Disclosure is mandatory for licensure and authorized by K.S.A. 74-148 and K.S.A. 74-139. It is used to verify identity and license individuals lawfully residing in the U.S. Upon request 
of the director of taxation, each such authority shall provide to the director of taxation a listing of all such applicants, along with such applicant's social security number and address.

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603

Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002
Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor-in-Training%20Verification%20Form%20FILL.pdf
https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Board%20Policy/Policy_Instructors_in_Training.pdf
mailto:kboc@ks.gov
mailto:kboc@ks.gov
www.kansas.gov/kboc/
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